Those Revolting Computers

16 Aug

computer

Has this ever happened to you?

You’re at your computer workstation, ready to “boot up” when you suddenly get a message on your screen telling you that downloads were made the night before and you have four minutes before your machine automatically restarts.

Or, how about this one: You’re working on an important file and everything stops. You get another message that says something like this: “We’ve encountered a serious error (error: 12#H472-B6@559%%) and will have to quit.

Those little announces can become big problems that can happen at any time. What can we do to protect ourselves? It seems computers are starting to understand just how important they are to daily human activity and it’s going to their heads, or CPUs.

If you had a problem in the old days, you could just restart or shut down and it was solved. Today, if you try restarting, you get another message telling you that your computer will not shut down because it is in the middle of “correcting” your problem.

I tried waiting for my computer to “correct” my problem once. Three days later, I still had the same message.

I know that some of you “Mac” people are gloating because you like to think that your Macs don’t have these problems. Well, you’re right. They don’t have these problems, but they have problems. I work on both Macs and PCs and each has its own issues. Mac people tend to think of them as minor glitches. PC people, however, become frustrated and angry. Even Help Desks are becoming helpless.

Take my computer at work, as an example. Every morning I have to literally shut down and reboot in order for the thing to start. I’ve asked for help from the Help Desk and they just say, “Wow, that’s not supposed to happen.” Apparently, Help Desks are getting stumped by today’s new generation of computers.

Could it be that I upset my computer? Did I bang the keys too hard or go to a web site it didn’t like? Did it want a coffee break, or should I say a fresh shot of RAM? I don’t know, but I believe that at night, our computers talk to each other. I think they’re planning to organize.  Before you know it, we will have computer unions demanding vacation time and maternity leave for their little laptops. Will computers take over the world?

I say it is time for us humans to fight back and do the only thing we can do. Pull the plug. But then, who would read my blogs????

8 Responses to “Those Revolting Computers”

  1. Carmella Justice August 17, 2009 at 10:29 pm #

    Funny stuff!! I can relate, keep up the good work.

    I will not pull the plug, as long as you give it life.

    Mrs. Justice

  2. mutha August 20, 2009 at 12:01 pm #

    i don’t get it… is it suposed to funny or make you think?

  3. giuntacartoons August 21, 2009 at 8:38 am #

    Maybe it is supposed to be funny and make you think.

  4. mutha August 23, 2009 at 10:52 pm #

    mmm, NO. NO it’s NOT funny and does NOT make me think. I still don’t get it

  5. giuntacartoons August 24, 2009 at 8:25 am #

    You have my deepest sympathies. Not getting one of my cartoons is not an illness, so don’t worry, you’ll get over it.

  6. mutha August 24, 2009 at 8:29 pm #

    i still don’t get it

  7. mutha August 24, 2009 at 8:30 pm #

    are you trying to be smart when you’re stupid?

  8. Penny August 25, 2009 at 6:57 pm #

    I love your stuff!!! Keep up the great work . . .

Leave a Reply

